Illinois Federation of Teachers Announces March Primary Endorsements

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

Today, the Illinois Federation of Teachers (IFT) proudly announced endorsements for the March 2020 primary, which include federal, local, and judicial contests.

The IFT’s endorsements come after months of extensively vetting candidates and gathering member input. The union’s multi-step process includes surveying candidates on a variety of important issues, regional discussions open to all IFT members in the candidate’s community, and final consideration by the 40 elected members of our statewide Executive Board, which represents our union’s multiple constituencies and diverse membership. These endorsements reflect the results of that robust, democratic process.

Illinois Federation of Teachers President Dan Montgomery said,

“We are proud to endorse candidates who are committed to public education and labor rights. These folks share our values and will fight for our families, public services and healthy communities.”

The full list of endorsements is below.

United States Senate     
Richard Durbin (D)

U.S. House of Representatives 
CD 2      Robin Kelly (D)
CD 3      Marie Newman (D)
CD 4      Jesus “Chuy” Garcia (D)
CD 5      Mike Quigley (D)
CD 6      Sean Casten (D)
CD 7      Danny Davis (D)
CD 8      Raja Krishnamoorthi (D)
CD 9      Jan Schakowsky (D)
CD 10    Brad Schneider (D)
CD 11    Bill Foster (D)
CD 13    Betsy Dirksen Londrigan (D)
CD 14    Lauren Underwood (D)
CD 16    Dani Brzozowski (D)
CD 17    Cheri Bustos (D)

Read full story >>